What to do….what to do????

Hmmmm, let me think. I just don’t want to do it. Not because I can’t be bothered. I’m not lazy. Well really, I guess you could leave it up – maybe it’ll be alright in the end, and I’m sure even though I don’t have x-ray vision and can’t see what’s behind that wall it’ll be alright. Can it be wrong? Well he got the other stuff wrong, but surely he checked everything before he put the dry wall on and then was going to tile it. Surely he can’t have done that half cocked – you know, all the plumbing back there, it could be right I guess? What about if we cross our fingers and then it will be ok? What about that?

The real reason I don’t want to do it is because I don’t want to see the look on their faces. The look of disappointment.  I can see it in their eyes – the “You mean we’ve lived through this dust for nothing”? “You mean the $5000 we paid him has literally gone down the drain?” the “We have to start again?”

Yes that look. When a ‘contractor’ comes along and tells you he can do it within your budget (you actually don’t have to tell him your budget – whatever it is, he can do it, as long as he just gets in there and gets started then he’s in and all bets are off). That look as the drywall gets peeled off the wall and we start again.

If what I can see is bad then probably what I can’t see is bad too – well, unless you like to gamble, just make sure your insurance is up to date and comprehensive.

Leave a Reply

